click on image for zoom

The Krav Maga Grading System

There is a grading system in place within Krav Maga for those who wish to test their abilities and retention of the skills under the watchful eye of examiners from Israel.

Grading in Krav Maga is divided into three main categories; Practitioner, Graduate and Expert Levels.

Most Krav Maga members are ready for their first grading after four months of regular training. Grading thereafter is taken every 4-6 months depending on progression and requires regular attendance at training classes.

Practitioner Level (P1-P5)

The Practitioner Levels of Krav Maga are the core of the system. You’ll learn how to defend against the most common attacks, as well as building on your fighting skills and learning how to avoid a situation or what to do after a confrontation. Training also improves fitness, strength, flexibility and mental determination.

Graduate Level (G1-G5)

You are eligible to move into the Graduate program 6 months after completing your P5 grade. More advanced skills are taught at G level, including dealing with more complicated situations. You are expected to have a full understanding of all the P grades and continue to keep those skills at a high level whilst you progress through the Graduate program.

Expert Level (E1-E5)

Expert Grades are held by very experienced instructors who have a complete understanding of Krav Maga, after passing the coveted Expert Test. E Levels are normally also qualified to teach in more specialist areas such as the Military, Law Enforcement or Security Sector. You can take your Expert Level exam in Israel one year after passing your Graduate Level 5.